I am writing for posterity. I believe it will come in handy for somebody someday, even when I am long gone.

I must not fail to say this: That throughout the period of my life that I was going through this experience, I was always seeing children in my dream asking me to help them.  But I was always wondering how could I help them since I needed help too. The moment my husband and I agreed to help seemingly hopeless children, the puzzles of our lives had solutions. Because God showed him the full picture of all I had been seeing. God needed me to go through all the pains, so I can minister to those in pain. What an awesome God!

 

Each time I think about it… that the larger percentage of what would have been my productive years were spent nursing Thyroidism, I weep. Oh! Most of my  contemporaries were busy building their careers! That is the human part of me!  But do you know whenever you wake up is “good morning”. Supposing I didn’t survive those terrible nights?

 

I thank Emem Ohimai, founder of Praying Mums and Wives (an online group) for suggesting that we read the book, “Purpose-Driven Life” by Rick Warren. That’s one of the key inspirations for documenting my experience.

 

Oh! My husband! The crown of my head. My encourager. My mentor. The one that has my key. He knows me inside out… He entered the theatre to witness my fibroid operation.. He saw how I was opened up. He saw all my organs. Saw how fibroid was removed. He witnessed how I was sutured…He was holding my feeble hands when I woke up.

At a recent event…

 

He didn’t understand what I was going through initially, but now he can give a whole lecture on it… Now, he would look at me and say ‘you are a strong woman’. His love and that of the children, strengthened me to fight to live.  Remember those nights, I would wake up from some suffocating spells… Just stamping my feet and coughing… trying to take my life back from whatever it was that wanted to steal it! His love, and that of the children, strengthened me to fight…He has been on my neck to write this experience for sometime now. I am happy that the burden is finally lifted… Thank you and thank you, Femi.

 

My Pastor, my Broda… Dr  Babatunde Bakare the serving overseer of The Latter Rain Assembly… thank you sir for those teachings, they ignited my faith in the tunnel of ill-health. How can I also forget one particular occasion that some one, who I didn’t know had been observing me during that period of time, walked up to me to ask: “which church do you attend? I want to serve the God you are serving, the way you are serving Him”. Or the woman who supplied me foodstuff, who saw me go through the sickness and overcome. She said: “true true na God you dey serve. Which church you dey go…? Thank you, Pastor B, for equipping me to know God better, though I am still a work in progress. Thank you so much for all your labour of love on us….

Library picture… Dr. Bakare (left) with some of my family…. in the late 90’s

I am ultimately writing this to glorify The One who gave me life against all odds. He qualified me to live. He took me through the valley of the shadow of death. He  fought for me when my strength waned. He gave me wisdom during the terrible nights when medicines failed! He gave hope to me in my hopeless state! He healed me. He gave me a new life… He did the impossible. God gave me the grace of a  new morning. I am alive today because He kept me. His grace sustained me….

 

Whatever you are going through…don’t give up… you will yet praise Him.. Night does not last forever… It will soon be morning!

 

So I say Hallelujah! Thank you Jesus! It is a new day!!!

 

 

JUST IN CASE YOU MISSED OUR PAST STORIES…:

–To read Part 1 of “My Struggles with Thyroidism”, please click: https://rot0808.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/hormonal-imbalance-how-i-learnt-the-very-hard-way/

 

–To read Part 2, please click:https://rot0808.wordpress.com/2017/02/16/hormonal-imbalance-part-2-when-supplements-water-leaf-stewless-rice-became-my-food/

 

–To read Part 3, please click:https://rot0808.wordpress.com/2017/03/02/hormonal-imbalance-part-3-my-struggles-with-thyroidism/

 

–To read Part 4, please click: https://rot0808.wordpress.com/2017/03/09/thyroidism-when-all-drugs-failed/

 

–To read Part 5, please click:

https://rot0808.wordpress.com/2017/05/30/surviving-hyperthyroidism-part-5/

